Ruth and Kids Pre 5k Road Race

Ruth and Kids Pre 5k Road Race

Although an avid jogger, and like to hike and bike (but haven’t done much of it in recent years) I would never call myself an “athlete”, and nor would my kids. And so, although I did indeed get up on water skis a couple of times pre kids (the last time being 24 years ago when trying to impress my then date, my now husband) I wasn’t what you would call well versed and comfortable as a skier. As such I’m not sure exactly what triggered in my mind that I would consider my hand at skiing earlier this week when we decided to spend the afternoon as a family on a boat cruising Sebago Lake.

 

 Maybe it was because my kids wouldn’t expect it and I wanted to impress them. Maybe it was because I wanted to know if I had the stuff to get up after so many years. Maybe it was because I knew how good it would feel if I actually managed the feat of launching myself up out of the water to enjoy the rewards of floating along. Maybe it was abit of all of the above.

 

Ruth Getting Ready to Fly

Ruth Getting Ready to Fly

 

The water was choppy, it wasn’t really warm, and the attempts to getting “launched” were numerous. Conditions were less than ideal. I tried to pull from memory the tips I was given by my brother what was a lifetime ago. Tips up, knees bent, rope taught. Told myself not to over think it, told myself that I really could do it, just don’t give up. Told myself it would be so worth it all to remain determined and steadfast in this quest.

 

Ruth Actually Water Skiing and Having Fun

Ruth Actually Water Skiing and Having Fun

Not sure who was more surprised, my family, or myself, when I finally “landed the launch” and proceeded to actually ski, and long enough that my son decided to chronicle it by taking a video with my camera. (Did I even know I had this feature on my digital camera???) It was surreal. It was amazing, and with video on hand (click to watch Ruth water ski on YOU TUBE), I can revisit this feat as many times as I like, including comments from my very own “peanut gallery.”

 

 

 

 

Mark Having Fun Running the Boat

Mark Having Fun Running the Boat

 Same “peanut gallery” is rooting for their Dad who recently “landed his launch”, much more than my little foray on the water, in securing a job outside the realm of our antique business, back to what was a 20 year stint in the world of shoes. It’s been awhile since this “shoe dog” has worked “corporate”, but I am fully confident that although a different experience from before, that it will come to him, and that it will be smooth sailing, not unlike what I was able to do on the lake earlier this week.

 

 

Ruth Olbrych
www.antiquesbyzaar.com
Ruth@antiquesbyzaar.com

