New England Women Business Owners

New England Women Business Owners

Following along Jane Pollak’s blog as I do, I was introduced to the New England Women Business Owners, or NEWBO, an organization which awarded Jane their Woman of Distinction Award for 2009 and which she (of course) blogged about.

 

Jane Pollak, a woman with a mission.

Jane Pollak, a woman with a mission.

NOTE: I first met Jane at the ASID Carolina’s Conference in Raleigh Durham what is a year ago now (I was there on behalf of the High Point Design Center) , and from the short insight I have garnered into what she has done and continues to do to “lead remarkable women to uncommon success”, well, it is nothing short of phenomenal. She was most worthy of the award bestowed upon her.

 With my warehouse based in High Point NC, the bulk of my networking efforts are focused in that area. However, I am still currently residing in Maine, and thus thought why not plug on along here as well.

 Of course the NEWBO event I chose to attend for my introduction had to be a 7:30 breakfast in Waltham, MA, a mere 2.5 hour drive south from my home. With CD book in place (See below for plug on this read) I was in good stead and off I went.

Karen Macumber

Karen Macumber

The room was bustling as about 40 women grabbed coffee and pastries prior to the presentation, as given byKaren Macumber, entrepreneur extraordinaire, expounding on what she has garnered, with talk titled “From Start-Up to Position for Acquisition: Marketing tips”. All enjoyed what she had to offer, myself included.

And of course, I also enjoyed getting to know NEWBO members, Heather Onstott of Launch Capital, Shelley Hall of Catalytic Managementand Linda Varone of Nurturing Spaces. Linda in turn introduced me to Christine Wojnar of Feng Shui and Space Clearing.

 

Linda Varone of Nurturing Spaces

Linda Varone of Nurturing Spaces

There is always someone at these events that you “click” with and such was the case with Linda and I. (I do believe we could’ve gone on for lunch if we didn’t both have prior engagements following.) I shared with her what I am doing/learning in the social networking world and she gave me hints on how to further my presence in the world of public speaking, that which I am launching (actually, more so re launching after a long hiatus and with new topic) into, co presenting at the ASID Carolina’s conference early October…on what else? Social networking from perspective of online business owner buying into it and why you should too.

 So thrilled I made the effort to attend the breakfast and start this connection with this wonderful group of women. I am never disappointed when in a room full of women entrepreneurs and this was no exception. In fact this event was a small part of what was a phenomenal week of further colluding with fellow female entrepreneurs…but that is for another post or two…to follow.

 Ruth

P.S. The book of choice for this road trip and hot to plug is none other than Mitch Albom’s Tuesdays With Morrie. Enjoyed every bit of it.

Add this to the other great road trip read, The Shack.

