Designer Extrodinaire...Elaine Griffin

It was back in 2005 when NY Designer Elaine Griffin and Antiques by Zaar first connected. At the time she was contributing editor to the O at Home magazine, doing a regular feature by way of “Good Works Makeovers” and I was 5 years into running my online business, selling Chinese Antiques.

The freshly done lounge at Safe Horizon.

 Her enthusiasm for her then current project, the Safe Horizon Home, was evident from the get go, and it didn’t take but a minute for me to agree to contribute to the project by way of a pair of tea tables that flanked the Liz Clairborne loveseat, topped with Robert Abbey lamps, and a backdrop of 9 Oly mirrors. 

Fast forward to 2010. Elaine is now contributing editor to Better Homes and Gardens and is continuing on with doing good will makeovers, this one being for recently widowed Ann Hanover who relocated from Washington State to upstate New York, to be near her son and his family. Project was to give her an inviting and warm retreat in the bedroom of her new home.

I happened to be hanging at the beach in Langkawi Malaysia with my daughter (blogged about here) when I received a, now familiar, high energy email from Elaine, asking me if I would contribute to her latest project, suggesting the perfect piece…. a piece that she needed by the following Wednesday…in time for the shoot.

Mixing wood finishes/genres keeps things from being "matchy matchy"

Thanks to the ever efficient services offered by Melissa @ Metropolitan, my trusty blanket wrap shipper, the piece was expedited from my High Point NC warehouse to upstate NY, in time for the photo shoot. And yes, I am glad that I paid the nominal fee to check my email twice daily from the hotel computer. Results to be found in the current/June issue of Better Homes and Gardens.

As Elaine states “mixing furniture finishes is the hallmark of a well-designed contemporary room”… placing my Chinese black lacquered sideboard alongside  a wood chair with a limed look, to exemplify this point in her project. And personally (of course) I couldn’t agree more.

So pleased to be a part of this, our 2nd collaboration.

If you’re interested in learning more of Elaines “tips” you can do so, by buying her book Design Rules, which was published late last year….just click icon below and you will be taken straight to Amazon…or you can try your luck at winning an autographed copy, by way of my book giveaway…announcing here and again in my July 4th newsletter. To participate simply leave a comment in the blog and will include your name. Winner of the giveaway will be announced Monday July 12th.. ..

…and if you feel you might recognize Elaine, it may be from her appearances on the Today Show where she periodically does guest appearances offering Design tidbits.

BR 13 Black Lacquered Sideboard: Retail 2,225.00

And, of course, we do have stock of similar styled black sideboards, such that Elaine used in Ann’s bedroom. Click here, to view all that we have available.

Ruth

