Yes, rain of all sorts, ran across my path as I added another 4,500 plus miles on my trusty KIA this past 38 day stint on the road…yes, that would be almost 55,000 miles in past 22 months… with major stopping points being New York, High Point NC, Washington DC, Montreal Quebec and Kitchener Ontario….again, this being a combo trip for personal and business reasons, and why it being such a lengthy time away from my current “home front”.

Attending the Kat Burki, one of my Zaar Design Center “trade partners”  store opening in Westport CT, was the major impetus for my 3/24 departure, which I wrote about in this blogwhich FYI, went out as from ZAAR Design Center, rather than Antiques by Zaar, through which I’m trying to have a further reach, and why you might not have seen it, and so am  linking here for ya’ll.

And from there it was on to High Point, NC …not only where I warehouse my inventory, but also from where I show for the High Point Market. I was able to capsulize this in this missive…at least the “extras” that are part of Market.

Just to add here that the more entrenched I get in doing my business from High Point the more pleased I am that we made the life saving decision to move our warehouse from Maine to NC back in 2007. What a great proactive move that was!

After an invigorating time working Market it was back to New York, to meet up with my husband and take a little mini vacation to Washington DC. Have to say I quite enjoyed being the tourist. We did come across some bloomng cherry blossom trees as we toured about, in what wasn’t the most appealing weather…per the title of this blog, the rain followed me here as well. But no raining on my parade. We had a good time taking in various attractions and being reminded of the history of this great country and what it took for us to get from there to here…and yes, I do say this as an accepted foreigner residing here as a permanent resident.  Happy to share photos here. Was reminded further of my interest in my own family history which is on my “bucket list” of things to do when….

Back to work from New York for a few days before hitting the road to Montreal to pick up my youngest, who just finished up her 3rd year at McGill.  She was my all star hockey player in high school and maintains an interest in the sport, so it was a delight that the timing of this pick up would coincide with a quarter final play off game between the Montreal Canadiens and the Boston Bruins. …host team unfortunately losing in overtime 😦 ….but the experience was good….and yes, dotted with rain! Pix  here.

Easter weekend in NY ,more rain, where we would enjoy a typical pre show lunch at Juniors,  seeing Wonderland on Broadway, ALWAYS LOVE Broadway,  a little outlet shopping, and a peak into the Disney store, cupcakes at CRUMBS, we must test the “competition”,   and a delightful Easter brunch in Southampton….and then it would be off to Kitchener Ontario, where I would hang my hat/visit with  family and friends  for a couple of days while elder of my daughters finished her final exam….two graduated, one to go!

….drop my girls off in NY, so they could catch a flight for a week long trip sister trip to Disney…graduation gift…and the final leg to Maine on a bright and sunny May 1st!

Landed. Changing gears. Enjoying the sunshine and the green. Enjoying NOT getting into my car for an extended time, meaning anywhere from 6-10 hours…giving it, and me, a break. And now time to write write write….well, until I head for a quick trip, this time my KIA will rest as will need small U HAUL, to Montreal on Sunday.  Let’s hope for sunshine eh?

P.S. Sun was shining when I started this yesterday….yes, raining today….oh well. 😦   As my friend commented to my note “rain rain go away….”  May showers bring June flowers. OK.

